Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Why meditate?

Since desire is the cause of suffering, isn't it better to spend one's time fighting against it as and when it arises? So why must we do any meditation - whether watching the breath or controlling thoughts, or whatever else. Once desire goes, so do our problems. I understand that meditation may have relaxation benefits and such, but music (or whatever your fav. activity) can do that for you anyway.

My point is, meditation doesn't seem indispensable if our top priority is to eliminate desire.
BhanteLucky

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited April 2013
    without desire, you cannot do anything in the world - not even eat, drink etc - because even to eat, you should have a desire to satisfy your hunger. it is the craving for sensual desires which causes more suffering to arise - and it is desire to follow the spiritual path to eliminate suffering leads to lessening of suffering. so it depends on what you desire. so it is not desire which is inherently good or bad, rather what is the desire of - decides whether it is a skillful desire or an unskillful desire.

moreover, meditation is not done just to eliminate desire - rather meditation is done to see things as 'just they are'.
    Invincible_summer
  • Just to clarify for one and all. By desire, I mean craving. So please let's not go off on a tangent about how all desires aren't bad, etc. etc. It would be a waste of time.
    meditation is done to know who we are - our true nature - to see things as 'just they are'.
    Invincible_summer
  • edited April 2013