Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Should i stop doing sitting meditation? please suggest.

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited February 2014 in Meditation
hi all,

i have been doing sitting meditation for the last 2 years nearly on an almost daily basis for nearly 1 hour sitting based on alarm set on clock in morning - with few exceptions of not able to sit for meditation for may be few days, when in morning i may be travelling. what i do is - sit in cross-legged fashion (initially i was sitting in full lotus position, but when pain started arising near my legs' knee area, then i stopped sitting in full lotus position, so for the past few months i have been sitting in normal cross-legged position) - with eyes closed - initially started with anapanasati, then moved to zazen(just sitting method), then for the last few weeks came back to anapanasati method.

my meditation is going nowhere. now therevada point of view says the path goes to awakening, but zen point of view says it comes down to moment-by-moment practice and there is no going anywhere, as everything is always in here and now - also the practice and enlightenment are same as dogen taught - practice is enlightenment and enlightenment is practice, so he used one word for it 'practice-enlightenment'. also i understand that meditation is done not to achieve anything, but to let go of everything, which we think we have.