Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is eating egg allowed in a vegetarian diet?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited December 2014 in Diet & Habits

Hi all,

I was pretty much convinced that eating egg is non-vegetarian. but recently i have heard from my family that eating egg is included in vegetarian diet.

i think the basic idea is of intentionally no harming, so we take up veg food, so that we do not harm or hurt other animals for our food, provided we have sufficient supplies of vegetables and fruits to cover up for our diet. since i am from india, so as far as my situation is concerned, where my work cities or my home city are there, i have easy access to different kinds of vegetables and fruits to cover up for my diet. But still my family is insisting me to eat eggs, since i have left eating non-veg food for nearly 2 years now. The reason my family have come up with is that they are saying that they have heard that egg is included in vegetarian diet. so i thought of raising this as a thread to get more information on this topic.

so please tell if in a vegetarian diet, eating egg is allowed or not? thanks in advance.

Comments

• DobsDobs Maine, USA Explorer

Some do some don't. For a vegan it's a no-no. Vegetarian that eats eggs is called an ovo-vegetarian. In the final analysis what you do or do not eat is up to you.

JeffreySunspot5254
  • Only eggs allowed vegetarians are the ones produced by vegetarian birds.

• @sndymorn said:
    Only eggs allowed vegetarians are the ones produced by vegetarian birds.

So, hummingbird eggs, maybe?

rohit
  • RhodianRhodian Loser Veteran

@sndymorn said: