Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhism, LGBTQ+, and Going Vegetarian

jakayobjakayob United States New

Hello guys, I am new to Buddhism (not new to meditation though), so if I say something ignorent, please correct me. =) I had a few questions regarding Buddhism on the position of LGBTQ+ rights, dealing with my anger with the recent Orlando Shooting, and how to go vegetarian.

First, I have recently been researching the different schools, and I came across a Buddhist Conversion Therapy Camp for gay and transgender individuals (I believe in Thailand). But at the same time, I have read that Siddhārtha Gautama supported trans people, and allowed them to be the gender of their choice. I was wondering what the general point of view (for people who practice Buddhist principles) is about the LGBTQ+ community. Is the Conversion Camp a part of a minority or majority? I am in the middle of transitioning (ftm), and I am afraid of facing discrimination among other Buddhists, if what I practice is contradictory to what other practitioners believe. Which schools of thought/parts of the world are most friendly?