Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Timing, discipline, strictness, flow

KotishkaKotishka Veteran
edited August 2022 in Meditation

I'm currently studying Psychology and picking up ANY kind of work I'm able to find. I'm also helping my parents and my partner. Sometimes I was overwhelmed by this, and found that "practice" was impossible. I tried sticking to a group meditation session (for consistency) but my shifting schedules made it so hard that I ended up having to drop out because there was no way. Even my daily practice was being interrupted.

In Spanish, we have a saying: "Quién quiere, puede" "If you want it, you get it". That's the motivation! What's behind the motivation? Wholesomeness, compassion, and hard-work! That last bit is what I forget sometimes in the path. It is hard-work, it is re-wiring your brain, ordering your mind; like cleaning a huge basement. It is not about getting it all cleared -which would be great- but maintaining certain consistencu and also learning how not to clutter up and return to the previous unwholesome / chaotic State.

For my case, I learnt I simply had to go to bed early, wake up earlier. I found quite inspirational this ex-marine called Jocko Wilkins. I know it might not sound very Buddhist / compassionate, but I take his discipline and the physical exercise routine as great aids to my path.

Good day to you all!

marcitkopersonJeroenlobsterDavidShoshin1FleaMarketLBArt23

Comments

• I was overwhelmed and found that "practice" was impossible.

I had only twenty minutes of formal practice time this morning. So …

• qi ong warm up, with a bit of aerobic fast martial strikes