Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Feeling quite out of place again .... having monks over for food offering

BrianBrian Detroit, MI Moderator
edited November 2010 in Buddhism Today
I guess in the Thai tradition (I'm not sure about the others - complete n00b), it is customary to invite the monks from your sangha to your home for a food offering. Me being completely american, did not know this until recently (even though I have been attending the temple for two years now)

Okay, so I figured that much out. Now come the logistics.

How to broach the subject

I just finally emailed one of the monks. I said "Would it be appropriate to invite the monks over for lunch for a food offering?" He responded, "yes" and "what day".

I came up with a saturday. He said bad day, I came up with a different saturday, bad day, he came back with a good day. Fine, date settled.

How many monks?

Turns out we have to cook for five monks. No biggie. But if you ever do this, make sure to ask how much food to prepare.

Expectations and etiquette

I'm totally lost. I have no idea what's expected. I have no idea if this is considered a ceremony either. They are also coming to offer their blessing on our new house (even though I've been there for four months now). What do I do? This is so intimidating.

Luckily, Achahn Pimol offered to come over early in the morning to explain things to me and to help us out. Whew.

Although, I feel weird about that too. He is one of the monks, after all, and this is supposed to be an offering to them, yet he'll be helping? What a weird situation for me :banghead: