Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

A possible breakthrough

chelachela Veteran
edited March 2013 in Buddhism Basics
I have been meditating for approximately 3 months. Over the weekend, it started to sink in that some of the issues that led me to meditation have been corrected: I have much less anxiety, I'm breathing naturally most of the time now, I am not in a constant state of compulsive planning and doing, I can read now, I can nap now(!), I am able to wind down in the evening and fall asleep without taking a Benedryl, I am less exhausted, less irritable, and able to sit calmly and be present!

Life is starting to feel more wonderful-- the best it has been in years.

Yesterday, at my Sangha's discussion (which occurs after our meditation), we were talking about some of the benefits we've experienced from meditation. Someone mentioned that they have been a compulsive planner, which several of us related to. When someone asked why do we think we are/have been like that, we each had different answers: to try to be successful, to be distracted, and a few others. But what it all boils down to is: Fear. Yesterday, I reflected on that. What am I afraid of? What is the ultimate fear? Fear of death. Of course! I think most psychoanalysts would say that is a standard, yet deep-seated fear that spawns lots of psychological problems.