Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Introduction and questions

JewelJewel North Carolina, USA New

Hello, first let me introduce myself. My name is Jewel and I am a 33 year-old woman currently living in North Carolina. While I am quite new to formal zazen practice, I have been studying and practicing Zen for fifteen years on my own. I do not currently have a teacher, though I hope to find one soon. In the meantime, I am under the tutelage of a man I'll call Bob, who was once offered the position of Zen Teacher, but turned it down, feeling he wasn't ready for its responsibilities.

So, here I am studying zazen with a man who knows his stufff, but doesn't have the title (what's a title anyway?). Like I said, I've been studying Zen for 15 years now on my own, and I am at a point in my life when I feel I want to become a monastic. You may be thinking, "She doesn't have formal training under a Zen teacher..." and you'd be right. But I feel I really would fit in in a residential setting.

Now, I have two issues to inquire about. First, should I take up with a teacher for formal training, knowing that I will then transfer to a monastery when the time is right, or do I move close to the monastery I want to eventually join (Zen Mountain Monastery) and learn specifically from the teachers there? My husband (and I) want to move to Austin, Texas, so I could study under a teacher at the Austin ZC, if that is what I should do...