Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Ten years of wisdom

JeroenJeroen Luminous beings are we, not this crude matterNetherlands Veteran

I’ve been reading Friedrich Nietzsche’s book ‘Also Sprach Zarathustra’, where the wise man of the title after living in isolation in the mountains for ten years decides to head down to where the people live to share the things he has learned.

So it put me in mind of who I was ten years ago, before I studied Buddhism, Nisargadatta, Poonjaji, and all the rest. In a way I don’t think I was that different, more impatient certainly. My mind was more full of technology, mathematics, algorithms, software design, science. It was a bit much of a burden, I needed to empty my cup. Still, the books of the wise can only change you if you believe in their truth.

Buddhism certainly made some changes, it’s truth was self evident in places. The ideas of dukkha and letting go of clinging, of living in ease and happiness, all made an impact. As did the later neo-Advaita idea that you are already That, that there is indeed no path, only the Mystery of which we are all part. I have the feeling that for my own wisdom to arrive there will need to be some further waiting for things to mature.

The things I have learnt to be wary of are directives… you have to be this, you have to find that. When wrapped up in pretty words they can be a pernicious kind of conditioning. Even in your half dreams, these can be dangerous. It is best to pay them no attention.

It’s like the Taoist saying says, the Man of Tao lets something go every day.

lobster

Comments

• lobsterlobster Crusty Veteran
    person