Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Suffering is a drug?

personperson Don't believe everything you thinkThe liminal space Veteran

I don't know how to write this so it will land at the nuanced position I'd like. I'm sure there's lots I'm missing or not understanding, this is a fairly new phenomenon to my way of processing the world and this is my first attempt at organizing my thoughts.

I think I've been raised and trained through Buddhism to relate to painful incidents with a CBT like attitude. Turning lemons into lemonade, using humor and other methods to reframe events into something more positive.

I've been hearing more and more talk that puts that sort of work into a negative light and puts forward a model of connection with others to lessen the pain. At least this is my understanding, to be honest its kind of a foreign concept.