Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Question about anger

edited January 2012 in Buddhism Basics
A little background before I ask my question:
-I'm new to this site (HI!!)
-I'm new to buddhism (I'm not a buddhist but currently looking for a place/group to practice and study)

For a little context, I live in Holmes county Ohio. It's two different worlds here, the amish and the rest of Holmes county. There are clashes from time to time, old ways of living and somewhat modern ways of living. Horses and cars share the same roads. I've lived here for two years and the amish make me upset. I've recieved obscene hand gestures, pointing and laughing, I've had rocks thrown at me, and I've been made fun of to my face in their language (a form of Dutch). I know I can't change them, I'm not looking to. But I can change how I react, so how does/would a buddhist overcome the anger that rises from these incidents? I used to internalize it but I know that's not healthy. I sometimes talk to my wife about it but I no longer want to burden her with it. Any help is appreciated.

-Dave

Comments

• Dammit! I hate it when people ask about this. Just kidding. Anger is one of those emotions that is totally self-inflicted.
  • Actually, they all are.
  • taiyakitaiyaki Veteran
    edited January 2012
    get angry at anger =].
  • personperson Don't believe everything you think The liminal space Veteran
    edited January 2012