Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is eating non-vegetarian food allowed?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
Hi All,

Just wanted to know from you all - is there any sutta which indicates that Buddha taught we should not eat non-vegetarian food like chicken, meat of goat etc and we should try to survive on vegetarian food only? Please suggest.

I had seen written in Bhagwad Geeta that we should avoid eating non-vegetarian food and should eat only vegetarian food. So I have left eating non-vegetarian food for the last 1 year. But for the last 2 - 3 days, a thought is arising in my mind that may be it is ok to eat non-vegetarian food and I am trying to avoid eating non-vegetarian food without any purpose. So thought of raising this thread. So please let me know your views about it.

Comments

• It's a matter of interpretation. He didn't say don't eat meat. He said avoid causing suffering to sentient beings. So you can see how some people interpret that to mean we shouldn't consume the flesh of sentient beings. But he also said to eat whatever is offered. So some view that as an indirect way of saying, "Don't create a demand for sentient beings to be slaughtered, but if someone offers you food, don't refuse it."

It's a matter of conscience for each practitioner to answer for themselves, I think.
    GentleJanet
  • The Buddha ate meat and that's good enough for me.

Sincerely,
    Just ate bacon
    vinlynMaryAnneGentleJanetIndigoBlueSky9
  • CittaCitta Veteran
    edited October 2012
    Dakini said:

It's a matter of interpretation. He didn't say