Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Catch 22 of relief from craving.. Any veterans?

I put this in beginners although I want veterans to chime in. The reason it is in beginners is that everyone on their first day of Buddhism knows what craving is. Unlike 'bodhicitta' or 'non-duality' we all know craving.

I was very strung out because I had a great time. I played a new video game and it is like a wonderful adventure.

So I was strung out very frantic in daily routines like trying to do my laundry and being impatient with it. Like indignant that I had to pick up the sock that fell.

I am a terrible writer so I probably can't explain this.

Just then I meditated out doors on a lovely spring day. It felt so good, my attitude and body reverted to wholesomeness. But of course there was an end to the feeling of peace. And then there are just all of these things I use to try to get back to a good feeling. A hard cider. A cup of tea. You can form good relationships to tea and coffee and not over use them. You can play a video game in balance with your life. You can eat right and exercise. All wholesome things.

But there is always that end to the afterglow of wholesome things. The meditation comes to an end.