Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhism and Alcohol

zenguitarzenguitar Bad BuddhistNew England Veteran

Hello, esteemed Sangha. I'm a new member on this site. Technically, I am not a "new Buddhist," since I have been practicing on and off for a couple of decades, though in an undisciplined manner. Yet in another sense, I am new since I have resolved to take it more seriously now that I am "getting on" in age. :) I look forward to participating in and learning from many stimulating discussions on this website.

At any rate, I have a question that I hope hasn't been covered before. How do the various Buddhists here feel about alcohol consumption? Do you feel it is totally off limits for Buddhists? Okay once in a while? Okay if consumed mindfully? Or perhaps beer is okay but not hard liquor? I'm particularly interested in learning why you feel the way you do.

I look forward to reading your replies.

Comments

• poptartpoptart Veteran

Okay if consumed mindfully?

What do you mean by that? Alcohol is an intoxicant, and the root of intoxicant is "toxic" a.k.a poison. If you take it mindfully you are deliberately poisoning yourself. Does this seem like a skilful act to you?

Invincible_summer
  • vinlynvinlyn Colorado...for now Veteran

Here, I agree with Poptart, both in terms of physical health and moral health.

I am a great believer in the 5 Precepts, and that is one of them (I do believe that different people have different interpretations of some of the 5 Precepts, but this one seems to me to have little wiggle room).