Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Do one's “thoughts” hold one's Buddha~Nature to ransom ?

13»

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited September 2014

@Earthninja said:
    I never chose either of those. I chose to be aware only. When I witnessed this I was sure I am no thought.

From theoretical understanding of ultimate reality, agreed that it is just emptiness with empty phenomena rolling on. But till the ultimate reality is directly experienced, till that point there will be a 'you' in you who is being aware of thoughts. Moreover, till that time, just by being aware, how will you function in Samsara? Even to get up from the bed in the morning, you have to choose whether you want to get up or not, which are also thoughts and you choose to act on a thought. So till that time the ultimate reality is not directly experienced, till then living in conventional reality with having discretion between skillful and unskillful seems like a skillful idea. So till that time, even though we do not have full control over our thoughts, we can exercise some control over the choice of thoughts we want to indulge in, by discerning which thought is skillful and which thought is unskillful and acting accordingly to at least not to further increase our suffering due to performing of unskillful acts.

ShoshinpegembaraDakini
  • Well put, @misecmisc1.

• DakiniDakini Veteran
    edited September 2014

@SpinyNorman said: