Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What are we supposed to do from Zen perspective?

2»

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited April 2015

@genkaku : thanks for your above insightful reply.

Hi All,

While i am studying the 300 koan collections of Dogen, i came across the below koan:
    One day the emperor’s attendant Wang Jingchu went to the monastics’ hall with Linji and
    asked him, “Do monastics in this hall study sūtras?”
    Linji said, “No, they don’t study sūtras.”
    Wang said, “Do they study Zen?”
    Linji said, “No, they don’t study Zen.”
    Wang said, “Not studying sūtras and not studying Zen, what do they do?”
    Linji said, “All we do is make them become buddhas and ancestors.”
    Wang said, “Even precious gold dust, if it gets into your eyes, will cause blindness.
    Don’t you think so?”
    Linji said, “I always thought you were just a worldly person.”

Without reading its commentary, somehow I got what this koan is saying - may be my ego is saying to me to post this thing - But please if somebody could ask some questions on this koan, then i can try to check my understanding - obviously i do not even know who i am and what is it - so obviously i do not know - so i am type of a stupid person. May be many koans i do not understand, but this one i think i understand, so i have become excited and my ego is boasting about understanding this koan. Damn, i am falling into ego now even more. May be the above koan is an easy koan, so i can understand it a little bit.