Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Seeing things as they are

ZaniaZania Explorer
edited August 2016 in Buddhism Basics

I have been reading the Dalai Lama's book called "how to see things as they really are". It talks a lot a about dependant origination and how important it is to have deep insightful understanding of this. It kind of makes sense. I understand that things have causes and conditions and are also the sum of parts etc but I wouldn't say I have a deep insight into it. Into emptiness etc.

I have been meditating twice daily for average 45 - 60 mins for about 5 years now. I have also begun to attend retreats in the last year.
I have read many different books trying to get a grasp of other Buddhist concepts such as the 5 skandhas, 4NT and 8fold path etc. I have to say after all these years meditating and practicing mindfulness throughout the day whenever I remember, the impact in my life Is very subtle. I am more aware of emotions, feelings and thoughts. I'm less reactive.