Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Dementia and Buddism

I have been diagnosed with Dementia, possibly Lewy body. I have been referring to myself as a Buddhist since 2013. However not a practitioner. I struggle with meditation, pronunciation of terms, and reading text.
Mattis-Namgyel and Dr. Ben Isbel have YouTube videos that discuss dementia and end-of-life care for Buddhists based on Elizabeth’s experience of caring for her mother, a long-term Buddhist practitioner who currently has dementia. Dying as a Buddhist.

I watched the first video and found it helpful. Trying to write this is pushing me to bring on the headaches and anxiety.

I will come back, my apologies.
George

JeroenhowKotishkaFosdickShoshin1lobstermarcitkopegembararocalaDagobahZen

Comments

• Hi George,

Life's a bitch. I've struggled with mental-health for over a decade. I know how hard and scary it can be sometimes. I want to write something helpful but am conscious that I don't have the required experience, wisdom, or knowledge. But I do have the wish... so here we go anyway!

My grandmother suffered from dementia in her late 90s. In the end she forgot pretty much everything and people generally felt very bad for her. I visited her weekly for years. During these visits I would often ask myself: "is she suffering?". By that question I meant: from her perspective. The honest answer was (and still is): "I don't know".