Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Teenage trials

Do any members have wise words for dealing with ornery teenagers? I have a 13 year old daughter who stings me with her Scorpion tail almost daily! I strive to be the rock, not the sea... remain patient, compassionate and not engage in the tirade but I find it difficult not to be upset by her cutting words sometimes. I've read many books and realise at her age hormonal surges are of tsunamic proportions, the pre-frontal lobe is underdeveloped, which explains a lot :-) and that I can't really expect her to be rational in the way an adult is. I'm relatively new to Buddhism so probably have a way to go before I effectively apply what I am learning with consistency. Thoughts anyone?

Comments

• Sometimes, we can't just take hormones as the reason for a teenager's misbehavior. Perhaps, the mind ought to be trained from an early age.
  • lillymac61lillymac61 Explorer
    edited November 2012
    footiam said:

Sometimes, we can't just take hormones as the reason for a teenager's misbehavior. Perhaps, the mind ought to be trained from an early age.

@footiam and perhaps the milk is spilt and I'm trying to clean it up

• There are a lot of stimuli dividing a child's attention, and that's why we need to set boundaries so they have stability, but we can't be too strict or too easy going.

It is difficult, but we really need to be the port in the heavy storm whether that requires firmness or gentleness.