Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is Awakening possible leading a layman's life? Your views please.

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited November 2012 in Buddhism Basics
Hi All,

Is Awakening possible while leading a layman's life - having a wife and a child. Now, theoretically it seems that it may be feasible for attaining awakening while leading any type of life - either monastic or family - but is practically awakening possible while leading a family life?

Now this leads to another question as to how much do we consider Awakening - as far as my view is concerned, i keep it simple as 0 or 1, means 0% or 100%, so either not Awakened or Awakened. Another way of thinking is going on the 4 levels - stream enterer to Arahant - but i think even the stream enterer level also needs removal of self-view, which in itself seems to be next to impossible, if not impossible task. So I am not considering these 4 levels of Awakening, as the first level itself seems to be too difficult, if not impossible.