Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhist practice and reincarnation

As a health professional, I have been trained to follow evidence based information. Is there any definitive proof that reincarnation exists, or is it a matter of faith?

Comments

• jlljll Veteran
    the most famous scientific research on the subject
    was by Prof Ian Stevenson.

poptartcvalue
  • Thank you very much jll. I will check this video out after while my 2 year old is napping later.
  • BhikkhuJayasaraBhikkhuJayasara Bhikkhu Veteran
    edited March 2013
    there is no need to have definitive proof of rebecoming (buddhists don't use reincarnation because it implies a transmigrating soul). The practice laid forth by the Buddha brings forth benefits here and now whether there is proof or you believe or disbelieve.

This from the famous Kalama Sutta -

"Now, Kalamas, one who is a disciple of the noble ones — his mind thus free from hostility, free from ill will, undefiled, & pure — acquires four assurances in the here-&-now:

"'If there is a world after death, if there is the fruit of actions rightly & wrongly done, then this is the basis by which, with the break-up of the body, after death, I will reappear in a good destination, the heavenly world.' This is the first assurance he acquires.

"'But if there is no world after death, if there is no fruit of actions rightly & wrongly done, then here in the present life I look after myself with ease — free from hostility, free from ill will, free from trouble.' This is the second assurance he acquires.
    JeffreyBhanteLuckyInvincible_summer