Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Hello!

Hi I am quite new to Buddhism. I honestly decided to convert (I used to be of the Jewish faith) because of how free thinking a peaceful this religion seems to be. My friend honestly told me that I should convert to this religion because of how much of a peace lover and free thinker I am. I honestly just have a few minor questions. I am sorry if I seem really naïve with a lot of this so please bear with me. I am only at the age of 15 and have been trying to understand a few topics.

One that I have seen that I find confusing is the topic of being Homosexual, Bi-sexual, etc.. I read on a form on another website that they are accepted except they cannot be monks. Can someone please explain why this is it really is puzzling my mind.

The second thing is I have a tendency to have a bad temper when someone is to "attack" a loved one or friend. Could this be a major problem for me and this religion?

Third is my diet, I don't eat meats and only fish but I would like to know if there are any other foods I should avoid eating

Once again I am sorry if I seem to be very naïve but I am just starting out. I have read about this religion in school many times so I know some basics but I still want to make sure that things are done correctly.

Comments

• ToraldrisToraldris   -`-,-{@     Zen Nud... Buddhist     @}-,-`-   East Coast, USA Veteran
    edited June 2014

Salutations! I'll briefly answer your first question, and leave the second to others: