Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Do We All Become Elightened - Eventually?

I'm still very new to Buddhism and have been do a lot of reading from various sources and have read about quite a few different schools. One supposedly enlightened one claimed he would go ahead and set up a plain of existence where we would all go if we believed in him where we would automatically learn the secret to enlightenment. Another one where if we say the name of another enlightened one we would move to an enlightened existence when we die.

If the cycle of rebirth or reincarnation continues does it go on until we ourselves become enlightened? As time is effectively finite what happens to us if we don't become enlightened in time?

Comments

• There is no real secret if you study enough, it is like being given a map with the destination pointed out, just getting there is the tricky part. (although nirvana is not actually a place). I personally cannot say if we all eventually will become awoken to the truth and have full realisation, I guess if the human race was able to go on for infinity then yes.. :wtf: I dunno lol, it isn't really a question that is important to our own practice though, but I can see why someone who is new to Buddhism would ask such things out of curiosity.
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    That's the plan... but as Rabbie Burns so succinctly put it,

"The best-laid schemes o' mice and men gang aft agley".
  • FairyFeller: