Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Newbie to Meditation - I have a MOB question.

Aspiring_BuddhistAspiring_Buddhist Seeker of the Buddha WithinWA Veteran

I'm a newbie to meditating, and I have a Mindfulness of Breathing question.

Firstly, I lie down to meditate. When I sit up I spend most of time trying to be comfortable - I do more shifting of position then I do meditation. When I lay down, I don't need to shift around or anything.

I close my eyes and just think about breathing in long, breathing out long. Works good, even better when I get to the point of "smiling effortlessly." Nothing forced, just a nice smile of well-being/contentment.

I've noticed that I can't seem to get past 8-10 minutes. At around the 8 minute point, my body kind of...twitches? My arms, legs, hands, feet, and head move at the same time. I'm not sure if this is a subtle desire of mine to move, or if it just happens.

I was wondering if anyone else has had this issue. I'd like to go the whole 15 minutes, but I can't seem to get there.

Any advice would be great. Thanks for your time.

-AB

Comments

• CittaCitta Veteran
    edited April 2014

1st piece of advice...don't lie down to meditate.

There are several reasons for this..not least because at some point in the hopefully not-too- distant future you will go on retreat..and at the very least you might take part in group meditation..in either scenario lying down will not be an option..
    So you might as well get used to that.

Aspiring_Buddhist