Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

NewBuddhist Member Introductions

Comments

• pyramidsongpyramidsong Veteran
    edited November 2010
    Hello! I'm female, 32, from Melbourne, Australia. Studying to be a veterinarian, and I'm also an artist (painter).

I'm very, very new to Buddhism but whenever I've thought about it it's just kind of felt like home, y'know? So I would like to start practising. Need some help to start with, though. :)
  • ShiftPlusOneShiftPlusOne Veteran
    edited November 2010
    Yet another Melbournian, welcome.
  • pyramidsongpyramidsong Veteran
    edited November 2010
    Thank you. :)

It's funny, I think the reason I've never really stuck with it before (have been interested in Buddhism for a long time) is because I was kind of impatient with my meditation, like, "why aren't I calm? Why aren't I enlightened?" :lol:

I've since realised it's the practise, not the outcome, that's important. Looking back it seems silly that I thought of it the other way. I guess I'm more ready now. :)
  • edited November 2010
    Hello Everyone. I am a 27 year old female. I have been a practicing Buddhist for many years...but i still consider myself to be a "beginner" so to speak. The place that i live...well let's just say there is not a lot of diverse thinking people here and what i have learned i have sought out on my own. I have had very little interaction with other Buddhists. I'm glad for a place like this where i can speak with people and learn new things. Talk about ideas and make Buddhist friends! Something like this is very important to a person like myself.