Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

A Buddhist teacher admits ... BUDDHISM HAS FAILED!

My name is Jundo Cohen. I am a Buddhist teacher, a Zen teacher, who says that it is time for us to admit that Buddhism has FAILED MISERABLY in its key mission. Over two thousand years of sutras and twirling beads, meditation and mantras have yet to realize all that we vowed to do.

Look around: How's that working out for the world?

But now, perhaps there is a chance. Zen and all Buddhism must not be frozen, limited only to means and methods available 50 or 500 years ago. Our way is not a museum of long ago.

Let us learn from our traditions and the past, act in the present, as we open to possibilities for tomorrow. This is the future of Buddhism and Zen.

Please allow me a few minutes to explain ...

Shoshin1Yeshe2019Gavin_R

Comments

• SuraShineSuraShine South Australia Veteran

I actually watched and listened to you @Jundo I have a few thoughts....

Buddhism is not a proselytising religion. And as I have experienced in my life, you can lead a horse to water but you can't make them drink. Also the Buddha said himself not to take him at his word but to test his teachings for ourselves. That in itself highlights that Buddhism is NOT a salvation based path and let's face it, a huge chunk of society want the easy way out. Many people just don't want to do the work. We can't force them to.