Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

My mind keeps on chattering in meditation

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited November 2011 in Meditation
Hi All,

i have been meditating since 1 month now. Two questions:

1. these days when i doing meditation, my mind keeps on chattering. what happens is this - a thought arises, i tell my mind to let it go, then another thought arises in my mind - saying let it go is also a thought - so i m trying to stop a thought with another thought - then i say to my mind to focus on my breath - then again a thought comes that i m saying to my mind to focus on my breath - so i m again raising a thought in my mind to focus on breath. So what i observe is all the time of meditation, my mind keeps on chattering. So how to make my mind silent?

2. when i sit to meditate in full-lotus position with my back straight, neck and head straight over my shoulder - then after 5 min, my head moves slightly and a thought comes to sit in proper way - so i try to keep my head again straight over my shoulder - then a thought comes is currently my head straight or slightly tilted over my shoulder - then i try to make my head straight over my shoulder - then again after 5 min, my head moves and this story repeats again. I think because of sleepiness, my head moves. So how to get rid of this sleepiness in meditation?

Please suggest. Thanks.

Comments

• You will never win the war against the mind. You will never win.

Understand that and change your approach.

Be with your thoughts, sensations, noises,etc. they are all valid. They all share the dharma.