Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

My mind keeps on chattering in meditation

Comments

• @weighted thanks, will do! :)
  • SabreSabre Veteran
    edited February 2012
    The breath is often very subtle and not easy to find for a dull mind. Try a few minutes of body scan before you start to focus on the breath, just to brighten the mind. It will be more easy to find the breath and to stay focussed on it.
  • @sabre body scan? Sorry, I am quite new to all of this.
  • A body scan is focussing on your body. Doing different parts, for example starting at your head and going towards your toes.

You can do it guided, for example here:
    http://www.audiodharma.org/talks/audio_player/353.html

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    @sabre: Thanks.

Hi All,
    Have tried this body scan somewhat. but something weird happens - it is difficult to explain, but let me try to explain it - i am doing meditation with my eyes closed, so when i was trying to do body scan, i felt to be aware of my hands, legs i had to move my eyes downwards even though my eyes are closed - then when i try to be aware of my breath, i feel my eyes were either downwards so i have to bring my eyes in front of my nose area for the feeling of breath. So even though my eyes are closed, how am i knowing my eyes are downward and not straight in front?